motheralice

thoughts randlomly dropped

25 Nov. 2007 on poultry, work, and holiday lists

Leave a comment

Where to start…….  Well, clearly it’s been a bit, and I think I stopped paying attention to anything for about a week (at least).  So I guess I’ll just ramble and see what comes out.
It’s finally cold outside, just 4 days ago it was still nice enough to go round in short sleeves and a jacket for the evening.  Now I feel like I’ve been shoved in the icebox.  I hate being cold.  I’d rather be in 90 degree humid wet blanket heat than be cold.  (And I’ve been told repeatedly that I’m crazy for it….)
Thanksgiving was….. unusual.  The morning of, we went and got a duckling to roast.  That eve, open the package and EWWWWW omigodwhatisthatrankfuckingsmell!  So.  Fuck the duck (much to my dear’s chagrin and disappointment).  Went out and got a whole chicken (there’s no need for 14 pounds of turkey for 3 people, after all) from a different store.  Get home (it’s beginning to get a bit late, but that’s ok), open the package and HOLY SHIT, there it is again!!!  Ok.  Fuck poultry.  Get the roast out of the freezer.  I don’t have a microwave, so the roast goes into the sink, fill with water, and hope for the best.  2 hours later, into the oven (it’s now 5 til 8-pm-).  So all the sides are made and ready, we are half starved to death (if I’d realised it was going to be so late, I’d’ve made some appetizer arrangements) and we decide (at 10pm) to go ahead and have our sides and wait on the roast til tomorrow- if it’s not done by the time we’re ready to go to bed, there’s always the slow cooker.  (The roast, originally destined to be eaten by a dinner party, was huge- hence the long cooking time.)  But, OH, JOY, at 11pm it’s done!!  Huzzah!  Into the fridge with you my friend, for tomorrow we feast!!  Ah well.  Can’t have it all I suppose.   Makes a pretty chuckalicious story though (now it’s done).  I’m still trying to figure out how it is that in 2 separate stores we could choose bad food in both.  eeep.  Good thing I don’t usually shop at either, I reckon.  Let’s see.  What else is there…. Work is good.  Overwhelming, but good.  I’m completely shattered all too often when I get home, and I can’t tell if it’s just ’cause I’m not getting enough sleep (trying to) or the adjustment to 40 hours.  God I’m such a baby.  Listen to me whine.  But I honestly feel like I have no time to do anything but work and eat (’cause I’ve found that if I don’t it’s really bad) and sleep.  And then on my days off I just want to lay around and rest.  Is this normal?  It seems like everyone else I know who works like this is fine.  They get the dishes done and their houses get vacuumed and the laundry is done.  So why do I feel like I can’t keep up?  Hopefully it just means I’m still adjusting to the new schedule and soon it’ll be fine.  In the meantime my dear and the boy have been fab.  It’s thanks to them I have clean laundry and dishes and carpet.  And am fed.  They put up with me so well.  Have to get them something really great for Yuletide in gratitude.  Have lists for both, and the boy’s list is miles long- as usual.  Told him to pare it down to the top 10 and he looked at me like I’d sprouted an extra head and said “but I really like them all”.  He’s a good kid though, once he understood the idea, he went right to it.  If anyone’s got a megablocks set for “dread eye’s phantom” (pirate ship) and you don’t want it any more, let me know.  Kid would probably freak out if I could find one for him.  D/h’s list is much easier (in theory), mostly music.  Now, all I need is funding….. Come on pay day!!!  WooHoo, and into the fray I go!!!

Leave a Reply

