motheralice

thoughts randlomly dropped

3 Oct. 2009 playing around….

Leave a comment


Music: Nightmare before Halloween Sdtrk.

Got up early today for the first time in over a week to do my morning walk with friends and found a couple furry little fellas on their way in a southerly direction..

Can’t remember what the stripes are supposed to mean, anyone have an idea? Either way, I got my 3 miles in and felt pretty good about myself for doing it since I have a tendency to groan and roll over in the morning rather than dragging me arse out of bed. Especially when I know it’s going to be chilly. The girls didn’t even have to wait on me this morning, which makes a nice change from me lurching from my car with sleep still in my eyes and pillowgrids on my face I’m sure.

The fam and I are in the process of decorating for Halloween, as many are.. here’s a bit of what we’ve done so far:

The one at the top is my favorite shot though. šŸ˜‰ I also worked on a remembrance for my grandparents..

Most of the decor outside goes up courtesy of D/h and his insatiable appetite for making giant stuff (like for instance the 8 foot scarecrow above), but the internal stuff is generally Monkey and I. Which we are slowly but surely putting up. Bats either this evening or tomorrow, lights to follow soon after. And trickiest of all, we have to sort out our party with about..hm…..NO money. It’s a good thing my friends generally bring their own drinks anyway… I’m thinking a crock pot of chili, some chips, and cake. (Have to have cake for Samhain..right?) Anywhoo, it’ll be fun regardless as long friends and fam are there.

In other news, I just finished reading “Lamb: the gospel according to Biff, Christ’s childhood pal.” by Christopher Moore, and I have to say it’s one of the funniest books I’ve read in a while. Made me snicker and guffaw at random intervals, and desperately want to read bits of it aloud so others could snicker and guffaw as well. The story covers the ‘missing years’ in Jesus’ life between childhood and 30ish, and this is how Biff starts off:

The first time I saw the man who would save the world he was sitting near the central well in Nazareth with a lizard hanging out of his mouth. Just the tail end and the hind legs were visible on the outside; the head and forelegs were halfway down the hatch. He was six, like me, and his beard had not come in fully, so he didn’t look much like the pictures you’ve seen of him.”

How can you go wrong with a start like that?

Leave a Reply

