motheralice

thoughts randlomly dropped

Nostalgia… or why myspace is better than facebook

3 Comments

You know what I miss? Myspace.

I know.

Could I be any more stuck in the past?  It’s totally true though.  It’s the first place I realized I could be online without everyone I know in the day to day knowing what I was doing.  I could have 17 accounts, all under fake names (cool ones) and get up to all kinds of shenanigans if I wanted to.  FABULOUS!  I could write/rant about work (and did- often and with much swearing), people I knew, whatever nonsense came out of my head and the only folks who were aware of what I was up to were the ones I let in on the secret. 

 

It was like having my childhood pillow fort again. 

 

Naturally, I let people in.  But only the select few.  Facebook is ok.  I guess.  It doesn’t beg me to blog there -not that I would, tooooooo broad of a friend list for that and I’m just not ready to deal with all the possible fall out.  At some point I decided to delete my M/S account and move all the blogs here.  In hindsight I think that was a mistake, as I’ve lost contact with some very cool folks and didn’t really give much of a heads up that I’d be vanishing.  Kind of an asshat move, that.  Also, Fb doesn’t ask me to share what I’m listening to/reading/playing.  It’s kind of…. sterile-ish.  I mean, I know I can write ‘notes’, but that’s not the same somehow (and it is all about perception at this point, I’m totally aware of that).  Ah, well… the good ole days and all that.

 

Thinking of all the East Coast folks this evening and sending good vibes their way.  I visited the Outer Banks of North Carolina this Spring and the people and place were marvelous and kind.  When I asked one man about how he deals with hurricanes he was quite sanguine about the whole thing… kind of the way folks in my area get about tornadoes.  ‘Oh, well y’know, you take shelter when the sirens go off and come out when it’s all over’ was generally his attitude.  I hope he retreats to higher ground this time along with all the others and when it’s time to come home there’s little or no damage and life can return to normal with relative ease. 

 

Bear is working again tonight.  He gets next weekend off for the Holiday, though, plus a bonus day Sunday night!  3 WHOLE NIGHTS OFF!!!!  That is just badass.  It also points up the fact that the company is quite a timesuck.  He’s worked the past fistfull of Saturdays- in his case, Friday nights- then is ‘off’* Saturday night and heads back in Sunday night.  I know it pays the bills.  I know.  I also know it leaves him no time to pursue his (ample) hobbies and art activities.  It frustrates me.  I want to fix it for him, and me.  I miss him being around.  And it pisses me off that there’s no end in sight to the 10 hour days/6 day weeks.  ARGH.  

*Read: exhausted

 

exhausted bear

 

 

I suck at being patient.  Heh.  I am good at reminding myself periodically that things could be worse, though.  After all, I could still work at the library…..

 


 

Currently listening to:  Beirut: The Flying Cup Club

3 thoughts on “Nostalgia… or why myspace is better than facebook

  1. Hellooooo! Check it out, I finally got round to discovering you had left me a comment about this being the only place we still had contact, and it is on this very blog post as well that I am replying. I’m sorry, I ain’t replied to anyone in weeks! Anyone at all! My workload ramped up till it needed 9.5 days a week to do, I was putting in a measly 7 :S Then I went off sick for a bit with stress, got a boyfriend for the first time in two years and everything is clashing with everything else and he may be the devil in disguise, nobody is THAT good! Erm, so, I’m gonna leave my email here where everyone can see it and then hopefully you will read this and see it 🙂

    reading your blog again after months of not reading anything but sodding engineering equations was a breath of fresh autumny air. 🙂

  2. Heya! So glad to hear things are….ok if not perfect! Hope the health is back where it should be, and the boyfriend does turn out to be That Good. 😉 Has the workload toned down a bit for you? I know it sucks to have work eating all your time. Bear is doing 60ish hours at work and I barely get to see him.

    Also, I am a jackass. As I was putting your email into my contacts list I spotted you ALREADY listed from before (prolly the birth chart thing?) Der.

    Anywho, glad you enjoyed my prattlings and hope to see some stuff on yours soon! 🙂

  3. Hello! Hope all is fab with you, no time to blog any more 😦 Or even, read blogs! But, he indeed might JUST be that good 🙂 xxx Happy Samhain, very belatedly, take care, be safe, have fun being awesome!

Leave a Reply

